The Joy of Cooking & the Internet

My appreciation for both cooking & the internet have increased dramatically since we moved overseas.
Up until ~2.5 years ago I did not know how to cook at all – sorry, Mom.  I had a very busy extracurricular schedule growing up which didn’t leave much time for cooking lessons.  I also had little to no interest in learning.  This feeling continued through my college years (why cook when there is a cafeteria full of mostly edible food?) until I met Alex.  Alex loves to cook and to explore new cuisines – he will eat anything once, probably twice, even if he didn’t like it.  Turns out I was marrying into a whole family of amateur chefs.  My then future brothers-in-law used to make fun of me for having zero culinary skills.  Alex did most of the cooking for us until last summer when we got married and I quit my job for a few months.  Suddenly, I found myself in charge of finding recipes, shopping for ingredients, and doing most of the dinner preparation.
Faced with this new challenge I quickly became addicted to recipe apps (Yummly & Epicurious in particular) and food blogs, especially my favorite dailies from Saveur.com.  I have always loved eating food but now I have a new love for preparing food.

blog_050914_2

I now spend a considerably amount of time every week browsing online for new recipes, ingredients, and techniques to try.  Naturally, these endeavors result in many successes and the inevitable failures.  There are some challenges with trying to explore cuisines and ingredients when living in Germany.  This is probably more so for me because of the cuisines that I prefer (Asian and Mexican, most notably); if I were trying to master French or Italian cooking things might be easier.  Unfortunately, I seem to always make things difficult for myself and choose recipes that involve ingredients not often found in German markets.  Thank goodness we live in Berlin.  There are a surprising number of large, well stocked Asian markets here (we just discovered one down our block!!) which have really made my life in Berlin wonderful.  They not only provide me with my weekly jar of peanut butter but also have enough sauces & ramen varieties to keep us satisfied for years!  However, Mexican ingredients are much more challenging.  I previously mentioned my failed attempt to make mole verde without tomatillos…  The other day I wanted to make black bean burritos but discovered that a can of frijoles negros cost 3.50 euro.  So obviously that was out of the question.  These difficulties force me to be a little more creative and usually involve me searching online for ingredient substitutions.

Other than enabling my new culinary adventures, I have started appreciating the internet in other new ways, mostly relating to communication.
For example, the other day I was able to watch some of my dearest friends graduate from our alma mater live online.  After we finished watching the ceremony, Alex mentioned that he felt like we had “been somewhere else” for a few hours.  I agreed – it really had seemed like we were back in Ohio watching the ceremony in the student center.  It is pretty incredible that we can get some of what we are missing even when we are far away.
I have the same feeling every time I text people back in the States.  I still “talk” to them just as much as I did when we were living in the same country.  Thirty minutes, two hours, 4,170 miles – it doesn’t matter the distance now that our cell phones are hooked up to the internet!

Alex and I often talk about how crazy it is that our parents lived abroad in the Stone Age before any of these technologies were available to average folks.  I would feel so much more cut off from my family & friends if I couldn’t shoot them a text or send a funny Snapchat.  I haven’t even mentioned video chatting, which really puts you in the action no matter where you’re calling from.  Last summer we were able to video chat with our parents from a tiny island in Croatia!  Which, by the way, had amazing internet speeds.  It is a huge advantage for us to be able to communicate with everyone so quickly and easily.  Especially for me, being unemployed and spending most of my days alone, it is really great to be able to chat with my friends easy-peasy.  Sometimes I think maybe we are spoiled by such wonderful technology…  Maybe we are missing some of the grand adventure that our parents had when they moved abroad because we are still so connected to the States.  But, as they say, if you got it, flaunt it.

Below are some of my recent culinary experiments and links to the recipes!

blog_050914_6

Above: Pork vermicelli is one of our go-to dinners.  We use a recipe from Helen’s Kitchen on YouTube (she has tons of  Vietnamese recipes).  Alex made this meal – vermicelli has kind of  become “his thing”.

blog_050914_3

Above: Chicken with a lime & coconut milk sauce.  The recipe can be found here.

blog_050914_1

Above: Carnitas tacos w/ pseudo-guac (aka what you make when you only have avocado and tomatoes).  Homemade corn tortillas are the bomb and are much more affordable here in Germany than buying tortillas at the market.

blog_050914_5

Above: The “before” of the previous photo.  I used this recipe I found on Pinterest.

blog_050914_4

Above: Mango pico de gallo – soooooo gooood!  No recipe, I just throw things in until it tastes awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

